Taking over: Pls.UK

plsus blog final.jpg

This Sunday, the Jaded children will be treated to label showcase of seismic power. We caught up with label co-owner Mino Murri to find out more about the rise of Pls.UK and the draw of living and creating techno in London…

 

Hi Mino! Thanks for taking time out to chat to us ahead of your Pls.UK invasion of Jaded this Sunday. Can you introduce the posse who will be taking over Corsica Studios room 2? in your own words, can you define the sound of the label?
First of all, thanks to you for inviting us to one of the best parties in London! The whole posse is coming –RVDE, Hono, Curdled, and Mistico. We have some great releases lined up this year so getting the chance to play all together is going to be something great! We have created a strong bond over the last few months and I am grateful for the music that brought us all together. Our sound is raw and aggressive –like a punch to the ears. Working with great people produces great artists. Our label embodies this completely.

 

Ansome and Ossian were the artists on PLS UK 001 and of course Ayarcana, Ontal and Ingen feature on 002. Is there a story behind the label’s inception you can share with us?
The reason for choosing artists like Ossian, Ayarcana, Ontal, and Ingen is, firstly, the energy they project into their tracks. When Alessio Sologno and I opened the label we had an idea of what kind of sounds we wanted to promote through the label. We both try to find the right synergy between the music which emerged from the 90’s rave sub-culture and the merciless pounding of pure techno. This is the music that we dance to today –whilst maintaining some distance from the Berlin techno, it’s as if we are bringing back the past and creating a new present all at the same time. We are living during an impressionable moment for techno and I hope that PLS.UK can make a lasting mark on the scene for generations to come.

 

How do you feel about the scene in the UK in general right now? What excites and inspires you about working in London?
For me, the UK scene is in its prime right now! This nation is finally taking over all the space and coverage it deserves. It’s just my point of view of course, but I think it’s impossible not to dance to any given track released here in this moment! My music along with PLS. UK releases are absolutely chaotic, and I think this is a reflection of the lifestyle in London. I always find myself rushing and pacing from one place to the next, so I like for the music to do the same thing. In this way, London can also be an inspiring place for making music! Everywhere that I go I hear or see something that makes me want to go back home and make a new track. I am also grateful to English people for understanding and supporting the effort put into my projects. I get treated like an artist here, but believe me where I come from everything is totally different. If you make music over there, it’s the equivalent to making nothing. It’s an unfortunate reality that some people view it this way, but I am only appreciative to be able to live this moment in a city that loves and supports the music!

 

This Sunday, you’re playing live as part of Harbot, tell us about what to expect from your set.
Yeah, Harbot will be myself and Alessio Sologno, co-owner of the label. As always, when we play as Harbot, we can only expect to demolish the place! We also hope that the crowd will reciprocate what we feel and enjoy what we do. So far Harbot has played just once in Milan for MX LAB and I can guarantee that the result was beyond what we expected!

 

What can we expect from Pls.UK 003?
003 will be an EP from Harbot that we’ve been working on for 1 year now. We also have some really interesting stuff in collaboration with guys like Ingen, Keepsakes, Anthro, and a few others who I won’t mention yet as I’d like to keep you guys on the edge of your seats. Believe me, it’s worth the anticipation!

 

Finally do you have a warning for the children of Jaded ahead of Sunday?
All I can really say is that it will be a mess! The walls might crack, floors could disintegrate, and you may probably forget who you are for a moment, but I hope in the end you’ll remember how thankful I am for anyone who makes it out this Saturday!

 

Thanks Mino, we’re looking forward to a proper breakfast dance off with you, Alessio and the crew!

 

Pls.UK are taking over Jaded’s room 2 from 6am this Sunday morning. Doors open at 5am, and you can read the full timetable for both rooms (Flug to headline room 1) and get on the cheap list here.
Leave a Reply

